HEWITT MAZZIO’S – CLOSED

26 Jan

UntitledMan I hate this.   On several fronts.

ONE – I was just there….days before it closed and was told by the manager that “everything was fine”  and it was a lease issue that would get worked out.

Well…worked out means CLOSED, I guess.

TWO- I can’t imagine they weren’t making money.  When I was there the joint was PACKED.  Everyone that came in was asking about the sign and were they closing.  So there is a large Mazzio’s fanbase in Hewitt/Waco.

THREE-  This was the closest location to me.  That means I would drive FOUR hours (round trip) just to eat there.  And I did.  Many times.

FOUR – Mazzio’s is such a GREAT place.  The food is awesome and the staff are pretty friendly (mostly-ha)…but Mazzio’s is NOT a well-known brand anywhere in the DFW area.  That is criminal because in Oklahoma – they are everywhere.    Sad that people here are clueless to the awesomesauce that is Mazzio’s.

I preach it here on this site, and to anyone I can find that will listen.    I will continue…but now it’s just a little bit more difficult.

4 Responses to “HEWITT MAZZIO’S – CLOSED”

  1. DERP January 28, 2017 at 8:22 pm #

    Another Mazzio’s fan. Growing up in East Texas, every small town had one and they were the the best. In fact the ones in Tyler and Palestine are still around, so if you are in DFW, those can’t be that farther than Waco/Hewitt.

    The one in Palestine has been there FOREVER. I was 6 (40 now) and remember going to a birthday party there. Then again, not a lot changes about that place haha.

    In college at SFA in Nacogdoches, they had a Mazzio’s literally right across the street from my apartment. There was a killer lunch buffet for about $6 and then for dinner, those calzone rings were just the greatest. I still crave them every once in a while, though it’s been 15 years since I’ve had one (ironically, the Hewitt one that just closed).

    They were definitely several steps up in quality from the traditional pizza places, and not expensive, so really curious why they are slowing going away in Texas. (As I said, EVERY East Texas town of at least 10K people seems to have one. Now, just a couple remain).

    • junkfoodcritic January 28, 2017 at 8:58 pm #

      Wow. Thanks for sharing your experiences here. My travels have taken me to Tyler, Longview, Palestine, and Nacogdoches so I know all those locations well : )
      Although the one in Nac is closed from what I hear.

      Here in the DFW area there used to be several locations but a weird series of events saw the demise of the entire chunk that once thrived here. At least that is how it was explained to me by another franchise owner.

      If I am not mistaken there is a Ken’s pizza in that Tyler Longview area as well? I hit they one also. Love the old school Ken’s even before I realized they were the precursor to Mazzios.

      Thanks again for reading and your response. Mazzio’s fans gotta stick together!!

      • DERP January 31, 2017 at 10:30 pm #

        Yeah, I found out about the Nac closing a few years back. Not-so-coincidentally, it’s the last time I was in Nacogdoches.

        Until you mentioned it and looking it up, I had no idea Ken’s pizza was still around in Tyler. It’s probably been 20 years since I was there, and, honestly, don’t remember it being good or not.

        I’m curious about the DFW locations and what happened. I’ve lived in the Metroplex since 2007 and I had no idea they ever even existed in this part of the world. For some reason, I associate Mazzio’s with small town East Texas (and trips to see relatives in Oklahoma) and just can’t imagine them in Dallas and Fort Worth.

        I’m due a visit through Tyler soon: This Mazzio’s talk will ensure I get a calzone ring now!

      • junkfoodcritic February 1, 2017 at 2:51 pm #

        You know, as long as I have been a fan of mazzio’s, I have never had the calzone ring? What’s wrong with me???

        Well in the DFW area there were a handful. Smaller towns like duncanville, Grand Prairie, burleson (I think) and a couple of others. Another manager told me that the franchise owner lost them in a divorce and his ex had no desire to be a pizza owner so they just went slowly closed one by one. Just the rumor I heard anyway. Sad really, if true. Everywhere I go, I find people that remember and have very fond memories of mazzio’s.

        I am happy they are still very popular and successful in Oklahoma – I just wish they would try and expand again back here in the dfw.

Leave a Reply

