OLD CHICAGO PIZZA AND TAP ROOM

25 Nov

Old Chicago Pizza and Tap RoomThis still-kinda-new pizza and beer joint is located in Dallas at the Mockingbird Station shopping area.   It’s design is simple and the staff seemed friendly enough on my recent visit.   I got a small pie to go and what you see is what I got.   It took 20 minutes or so despite the place being pretty empty.

So I was kinda surprised to learn that the “Chicago Thick” style crust on their menu does NOT mean Chicago-style-deep-dish.   Which is what I was expecting.  What I got was the same kind of deep-dish you would expect from say…a Pizza Hut or something.

That doesn’t mean it wasn’t good.   It was a great pan pizza.  One of the best ones I have had in a long time, in fact.  I would totally get it again and eat at this place if I am nearby and craving pizza.    It’s just sort of a head-fake that a place that has “Chicago” in the name..and offers a “Chicago-thick” style pizza….turns out to NOT be deep-dish in that Chicago tradition you might be expecting…so know that going in…and then enjoy some good pizza while you are there.

 

Leave a Reply

