WING TOWN – Irving

3 Oct

I wanna tip you guys off to this place I found in Irving because it might be the best wings in “Crooked I”.  I am referring to this little-out-of-the-way-place called  WING TOWN.  It’s a BYOB place that is open super-late on the weekends and serves up some truly great wings.

I know there are other joints in the area that have hot chicks serving wings, or “stops” you can make to get wings but for my money, what John Sawyer (owner) is doing is building something good here .  From the ground-up.   And like all new biz…there are just a couple of growing-pains.

But first- as far as chicken wings go, this guy gets it.  You get nice sized portions, no “dinky wings” to be found here.  These guys make THE BEST Lemon Pepper wings I have had in the DFW.   PERIOD.

They also have some of the best boneless wings I have had.   Freshly made from chicken breast…not some pre-made nuggets here.  So this place is kicking ass and taking names.   They got me hooked on two things at once!

They also have this one sauce called “Suicidal” (I think…keep reading) which is some VERY nice heat to it — and it’s the flavor I most crave from that place.  I love love love this sauce.   It’s a constant battle when I order…do I get the Lemon Pepper (my favorite) or the Suicidal (my other favorite).    I like to have many favorites.

Sauce is SUPER important at Wing Town too because they do something I haven’t seen done at any other wing-joint.  They encourage you to experiment with all their ingredients and come up with unique flavors and creations.  I think this is a fantastic idea.

Add to this, the owner, who is usually there…has incredible passion and dedication to making this work.   It shows in his approach  to customer service and you can hear it when he talks about his business.  He wants to be the best.  He wants to put out a good product.   He takes  this stuff serious.   I love that and it’s one of the reasons I keep going back because the place is a full 30 min drive each way to pick up wings.   So you know I gotta like the product.   And I do.  It’s a couple of other points that sorta bother me.

ONE- My biggest issue is the discontinuation of  the “SUICIDAL” sauce.   I have tried the “HOT” and it’s pretty mundane.  I know they now have “Ghost Pepper” but the heart wants what the heart wants and it wants more SUICIDAL sauce.     Somehow I gotta find a way to get this back on the menu.   Even if it’s only for me and I have to ask for it special…I don’t care.   It’s gotta return.  

TWO-  When the cats away….The first few times I visited, I was dealing with the owner.   When he was explaining how he encourages his sauce mash-ups and all that…it sounded great.    We joked about how mixing this or that would be crazy-unique and he was like “go for it!”    I like that encouragement from the management.

I don’t find that when he isn’t there.    A couple of times I was greeted by other employees and didn’t see the owner.  Maybe he was in the back or off at that particular time, but when I mentioned mixing a rub and a sauce together…or this and that sauce… I was stonewalled with:

“why would you want that?  It’s not gonna make it taste any better”.  

Okay, maybe not, but I thought the idea here was to experiment…not be talked out of it by the employee.   But I digress.  The employees aren’t rude or anything…I found them all to be friendly – but that stutter-step of trying to talk someone out of something seemed out of place.

 

Overall, this place is the true Underdog of wing joints and you know how I love to root for the Underdog.   I visit it as often as I can but if you live in Irving, it’s seriously THE PLACE to try.      I think all you wing-heads and hot-heads out there will love it just as much as I do.

P.S. – and please hound them for the return of SUICIDAL sauce.   JFC thanks you.

Wing Town

1930 North Story Road

Irving, TX 75061

 

Check out Urbanspoon and share your own thoughts on Wing Town!

Wing Town on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

