GOLDFISH can GO FISH

26 Aug

I must have ate at least a metric ton of these in my day.  Maybe even a few ton.

What’s the plural of “ton”?  Ton?  Tons?

The point I am making is I ate enough of these fish-shaped-crackers that I could have built Noah’s Ark out of them- and then filled said ark – with nothing but goldfish crackers.

It’s been alot of crackers.

So when I am at the store and I am feelin’ snacky – but not totally hungry – I see these and think – perfect quick-snack!!!

Minutes later I am sitting in my car wondering how to reconnect the flux-capacitor so I can travel back in time to warn me about how bland and boring these taste.

I am almost shocked.   I mean…did I mention I hate alot of these growing up?

And granted…I have had Cheez-it’s and some other snack crackers lately that are absolutely over-flowing with flavor…so to take this step back just seemed so….drastic.  Have these always tasted like this?

I taste cracker and a faintest hint of cheddar…..the smiles on these fish betray me.   They aren’t happy.  They are lacking in flavor.

The only salvation may be in that I saw some called “XTREME flavored” or something like that.   Really?  Is it the 90’s again already?   Does everything have to be XTREME for me to enjoy it.

oh…those sad lil fishy smiles…..

 

4 Responses to “GOLDFISH can GO FISH”

  1. jason August 31, 2014 at 9:50 am #

    They had to change to formula when they introduced the smiling fish. To me they’ve never tasted the same. I’m glad you noticed.

    • junkfoodcritic September 4, 2014 at 9:34 pm #

      thanks for the tip, jason! I would prefer TASTE over smiles on my crackers – but what do I know? Thanks for reading!

  2. Ursula Antonia September 3, 2014 at 1:08 pm #

    I haven’t had those in years! Thanks for the warning. I love cheez-it’s, but I also remember eating a TON of those (preferring them over cheese-its at the time) growing up. I guess our palettes change as we get older. What a disappointment.

    • junkfoodcritic September 4, 2014 at 9:32 pm #

      yep, bit of a bummer, that. Thank you for taking the time to read my blog and post a response!

Leave a Reply

