New Pizza Hut Hand Tossed Crust

17 Jan

Pizza Hut has revamped their “hand-tossed” crust. It is now lighter, thinner, and brushed with a garlic-butter.   It’s going for 10 bucks and hopes are high for its success.  So much so, Pizza Hut says “If you don’t love it, your next pizza is on us!”

I tried it.  I don’t love it.

In efforts to keep up with places like PIE FIVE, and the other upcoming fast-casual-pizza places, Pizza Hut is trying to make moves fast.  They made THREE announcements this week:

ONE: they would start selling pizza-by-the-slice in certain areas to test that market.

TWO:  Pizza Hut will now try to make their pizzas “less perfect”  by throwing some stray cheese pieces on the crust or maybe make sure the crust isn’t exactly-perfectly-round.   I can only imagine this is to compete with the artisan-style mom and pop joints that make some incredible (and not perfect looking) pies.

and finally THREE:  This new hand-tossed pie.    I didn’t think anything was wrong with the old hand-tossed style …but the brush of garlic-butter is always welcome.  They are right.  It IS lighter.  It IS airy-er.  But it’s the end crust that kills me.  I can’t fully tell if it’s the actual crust or the brush of garlic-butter…but there is a substantial amount of SUGAR when you hit the end-crust.    It’s a bit of a shock, even.

What I am expecting…or at least looking forward to….is a rich…buttery…garlic-y…end-crust.  That sweetness overpowered anything else.   It was almost like a sweet-bread at that point.   I taste NO garlic.  I taste NO butter.  Just sugar.

But the marketing worked.  Pizza Hut got me in the door.   Which doesn’t happen very often.  Pizza Hut has a long road ahead if they are serious about shaking their “generic-robotic-corporate-pie” image.   This ain’t the best food forward.  It’s a huge step back.

I know what you are thinking —-  They said if you don’t like it, they will buy your next pizza…right?

TWO things.

ONE:  You have to go back to the original location.  I was on the other side of town and bought it on a lark.  So I am not gonna drive all the way back to that location to complain.

TWO:  It wasn’t a horrible pizza…but by their terms “I did not love it”.  So if I do drive all the way back to complain about a 10 dollar pizza…that I mostly ate anyway…despite that GLARING FLAW OF SUGAR…what kind of an a-hole am I gonna look like?

I’m a jerk…but I’m not gonna argue semantics over a 10 dollar pie.  I paid for it.  I reviewed it.    Transaction over.  Lesson learned.

5 Responses to “New Pizza Hut Hand Tossed Crust”

  1. pg January 29, 2014 at 7:55 pm #

    I Agee – way too sweet! Mine was not light and airy, it was flat and under cooked. I’ve had better frozen pizza….

  2. Andrew August 24, 2014 at 1:52 pm #

    The crust has indeed become very sweet, which is really unfortunate. An ordinary pepperoni and sausage pizza should be SAVORY .. I used to like their pizza and still like their sauce and toppings. I hope more people will add their voices and they will fix this. Thank you for pointing it out!

    • junkfoodcritic August 25, 2014 at 10:58 pm #

      Pizza Hut, as a whole, for me at least…is not the same thing I grew up loving. Sad but true. I can still taste hints of the paste…the sauce sometimes….the thin crust…but it’s just different.

      On the other hand, I had Pizza Inn recently and it tasted exactly as I remembered it — and most people I come into contact with HATE Pizza Inn because some of the locations aren’t well kept. But I digress.

  3. Barbara Stroud February 4, 2017 at 3:04 pm #

    So glad that you wrote this. My husband and I just fell for the same deal. The $10 pizza. We opted for no flavored crust and I can tell you the crust end was freaky sweet. Shocking. I couldn’t get past the amount of sugar that had to be in the crust that doesn’t need to contain ANY sugar. A huge disappointment, and this will be the last stop at Pizza Hut, which we rarely go to, but the commercial got us. Good marketing. Horrible (to us) pizza. The sugar ruined it.

  4. junkfoodcritic February 4, 2017 at 3:12 pm #

    Thanks for dropping by Barbara. Your thoughts are always welcome.

Leave a Reply

