Sam’s Choice Pizza

17 Jun

I have always been, for the most part, a name-brand person.  FRUIT LOOPS was AWESOME…and “FRUIT HOOPIES” (the crappy-store-bought-brand-on-the-bottom-shelf-that-didn’t-even-come-in-a-box-just-a-clear-baggie) always SUCKED.  I know cuz my neighbor’s parents would buy the knock-off for the kids to eat while they ate the name-brand stuff.

But times, they are a changing, and after visiting some factories and distributors I am discovering a couple of nice little secrets.

ONE:   Some name-brand items and knock-items could be the exact same thing these days.   Some are made at the same plant, and slight alteration in formula can result in two items that are basically identical.

TWO:  People’s taste are as finicky as ever.    Cheap ingredients will not sell like the old days.   So these smaller named companies are stepping up their game.

SAM’S CHOICE is one of the “in-house” brands sold at WalMart.     Honestly the picture just looked good.   I also noticed that the pizza is right next to the other premium rising-crust pizzas — and was 2 dollars cheaper.

“How can you screw up a pepperoni pizza?”  I thought, and bought it.

I have to give Sam’s a TON of credit up front on this pie.   I mean look at it.  It’s a fine lookin’ pizza.   It has some char on the crust…and even some slightly burnt edges on the pepperonis.  This looks fresh from a pizzeria!      I checked on it half-way an noticed the pizza had a great rise to the dough while cooking.  It actually puffed-up higher than any other “rising-crust” I have tried.

The pepperoni was tender and crispy-burnt as I said.  Perfect.   The cheese and sauce were also better in quality than I was expecting.   The only drawback was the crust.  It did rise, but it had a slightly dry and bland taste to it.   That small personal detail aside, it was a worth the 3 bucks or so that I paid for it.    If you had kids (and wanted to follow in my old neighbor’s footsteps) or had a big sports party, buying a dozen of these and cranking them out for a hungry crowd would be cheap and easy out.   Probably get some compliments too!

9 Responses to “Sam’s Choice Pizza”

  1. Brandy May 21, 2015 at 6:48 pm #

    I hated sams choice pizza. The crust was sloppy, and mushy, there was very little cheese on the pizza and it was sloppy, and it tasted fake to me. The pizza would fall apart, and it was too much of a mess.I will never get sams choice again

    • Melissa A McMahon October 29, 2015 at 1:21 am #

      The ones I have been getting have had way too much sauce. I won’t buy it cuz of the sauce. They r nasty

  2. Miss Jaylen June 11, 2015 at 5:57 pm #

    I love this pizza better than any of the other frozen pizzas choices. I comes close to the pizzerias. I give it two thumbs up !!!

  3. Mike Durand September 12, 2015 at 11:16 pm #

    We tried the thin crust and think it is the best store bought pizza out there. Thin crispy crust. Just the right amount of sauce. Generous meat toppings. Maybe a bit more cheese would be in order but not complaining. Excellent and cheap!

  4. Melissa A McMahon October 29, 2015 at 1:18 am #

    I have been buying the Sam’s Choice Cheese Pizzas. The first couple were fine but the last few have had tons of sauce on them. The last one I got had way too much sauce. It had so much that I couldn’t even eat it. I had to throw it out. So I wasted $4. I will not recommend it to anybody. My dog wouldn’t even eat it & she likes pizzas. My mom won’t buy it because it has too much sauce. If y’all don’t cut back on the sauce, I refuse to buy it & will tell everyone not to buy it unless they like a sauce pizza cuz that’s all they will taste.

  5. Brad Gerson November 9, 2015 at 11:23 am #

    Little cheese and enough sauce to kill a horse! Not worth the $4 by any means.

  6. cbird2796 November 21, 2015 at 6:12 pm #

    I have tried the rising crust pizza discussed in this review and it was very good, but luckily found the thin crust pizza and it was even better! I found it to be on the same level as Pizza Huts thin crust. This is by far my favorite frozen pizza.

  7. jessi December 28, 2015 at 1:09 pm #

    I got sam’s choice pizza… There was glass in it. I can’t even call to report there are no numbers on the package.

    • junkfoodcritic December 28, 2015 at 1:15 pm #

      Glass?!?! Holy smokes! If I couldn’t find a number on the box I would definitely return the pizza (cooked or not) to the store. That’s kinda scary!!

Leave a Reply

