TASTE TEST: DiGiorno Meatball Pizza

20 May

The frozen pizza world has been boring to me lately. When I say lately, I mean a couple of years now.

Honestly, in my town ( and I am sure yours too) I can get a pizza from a local chain for around 6-8 bucks. Less than 6 if I really keep an eye out.

So if I have time, I would much rather swing buy and pick up a pie from a pizzeria rather than go home to the frozen 5 or 6 dollar pie waiting for me in the freezer.

But I do keep an eye out and I check the frozen pizza lanes for new things.

DiGiorno has a new “ITALIAN FAVORITES” line that is very promising.

Something you might not be aware of, is that hamburger is a very popular topping.

BUT the price of it has been going up lately, so I have noticed that most buffet places do not put out hamburger pizzas because of the higher cost.

So when I see a MEATBALL MARINARA pizza sitting there on the shelf, I was quite surprised and a little giddy.

I love meatball sandwiches, and some local mom and pop pizzerias have meatball as a topping. This looked promising. This looked yummy.

And the second picture below reveals it looks just as good from my oven as it did on the box.

The taste – with hints of herb and olive oil really give this frozen pie a restaurant quality taste.

The meatballs are juicy and they do not skimp on the toppings. Everything about this pie tastes like an upgrade to what I would consider a normal DiGiorno pie.

It’s easily he best frozen pizza I have had in many moons.

I’m sure you have seen the commercials where the family/friends can’t believe “it’s not delivery”.

To my taste buds, they finally have nailed it.

It’s a frozen pizza that I can actually look forward to buying.

2 Responses to “TASTE TEST: DiGiorno Meatball Pizza”

  1. violets May 26, 2012 at 10:09 am #

    Thanks for this review! I was thinking of trying this weekend but wanted to see if someone had reviewed online…your endorsement clinched it for me.

    • junkfoodcritic June 5, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

      Cool! get back to me on how you liked it! Always love to hear different opinions!

Leave a Reply

