CHICK-FIL-A gets SPICY!

23 Sep
spicychick by Junk Food Critic
spicychick, a photo by Junk Food Critic on Flickr.

Don’t think I have ever mentioned this on the TASTY BLOG before, but I LOVE the SPICY CHICKEN SANDWICH at WENDY’s.

Ever since I had one about 5 years ago, I was hooked. I love hot wings, and that was the closest thing I have ever had to what I would call a “Hot Wing Sandwich”. I also turned every person I could onto them. 99% of the people I had try them, loved them and were instantly converted.

Ok, now FORGET all that.

Chick-Fil-A has a SPICY CHICKEN SANDWICH that IS exactly what I have been waiting for ….FOREVER….. a HOTWING SANDWICH!!!!

Sunday (which is the day Chick-Fil-A is closed) a friend passed by and saw a sign in the window that said, “coming soon…Spicy Chicken Sandwich”. They immediately called me and asked what I thought about it, or if I had already had one (like I had special access to them or something).

I had NO idea what they were talking about. But a quick trip to the internet revealed that INDEED they were debuting a SPICY version of their classic sandwich.

I even got up early this morning, just so I could make sure I got one before I did anything else today.

I pull into the parking lot, and I see one of the local fire engines outside. Inside are firemen mingling around. I didn’t have time to go in, but from the drive-thru I could see what was going on.

This location had decorated EVERY table in the restaurant with firemen hats and red flashing lights….signaling that this place …and the new SPICY CHICKEN SANDWICH…was indeed…ON FIRE…so much so they had to have the fire brigade there.

NICE TOUCH!!!!

Now I am EXCITED about getting one! The line moves quickly, and I order (wheat bun…as pictured above) and I immediately pull over, take a pic and a bite.

MMMMMMITH ITH MMULEKTHERMAHL!!!!!!

(that’s me talking with a mouthful….translation? THIS IS DELECTABLE!!!!!!!!!)

They have managed to have the flavor of a dry rub taste to a chicken sandwich, with the liquid taste and heat of a hot wing. That is the only way I can describe it.

I have shouted from the roof tops all day about it, and I have had 8 txts from people that are already converts.

One taster went to one location, and the line was so long in the drive-thru (it’s usually not like this…and it wasn’t lunch time) that the cars were spilling into the neighboring fast-food parking lot, cutting off the access to the place. The manager was outside screaming at the Chick-fil-A customers to move or he threatened to call the police!

Another taster said, “I thought I was crying because I was sad because I was never going back to the Wendy’s sandwich…but no…it wasn’t tears of sadness…it was my eyes watering because this thing is SO tasty and SPICY!!!!!”

You have GOT to try this bad boy. As far as chicken sandwiches you can get from a fast food place, this is the BOSS!!!!

Perfect and UNIQUE blend of heat and flavor. Tasty tasty tasty tasty tasty tasty.

man I want another one now, just typing this….

P.S.- now I have to figure out how to break the news to

my-soon-to-be-ex………WENDY.

Leave a Reply

