REVIEW: CHOP HOUSE BURGERS

4 Oct


I HATE bandwagons.   I spend a lot of time out in the streets of the DFW, and I stumble across some great finds.

I have friends that are always telling me to “try this” or “eat that” – and I do eventually.   But I don’t run down the hill to join the latest craze.

That is usually because if there is a lot of BUZZ it’s either insanely good or over-hyped.   If it is the first, I am happy to kick myself for not trying it sooner.  If it is the second, I just feel tricked and grumpy over the whole deal.

So I had a friend see CHOP HOUSE BURGERS on TV and asked me to join them.   I seriously squirmed and tried to come up with a good excuse not to go.

I had seen Chop House a little while back – and remember it because it was in the same shopping center as another former burger joint – Captain Billy Whizzbangs.  (With a name like that, you don’t forget it…it’s closed now….I digress)

So when we arrived, I finally realized the place I thought I should try sometime ago is the exact place my friend saw on TV.

I walk in, and it is a dive.  I like dives, so I am right at home.   The customers are a mix of college kids and older people.  All of whom I am guessing have watched TV and are wanting to check it out.   Argh…..all aboard the bandwagon…..

Most of the staff are college kids and they are fun and upbeat and seem to really enjoy working there.  She finishes up my order and gives me a card – instead of getting my name for the order – they give you a name of some celebrity – so they call out – order for “Marilyn Manson” and the like.   Cute but kinda meh….

But I am already concerned by TWO THINGS:

ONE:  The name is CHOP HOUSE BURGERS.   There is a CHOP HOUSE BURGER in Dallas – so  I can see people getting confused.   Just saying.

TWO:   I ordered a cheeseburger and the girl cautioned me about what I just ordered.   At CHB – a “cheeseburger” is a burger – except instead of using buns – they use grilled cheese sandwiches as buns.   So it’s grilled cheese-burger-another grilled cheese.    That is rather elaborate so I am thankful she corrected me.    She told me what I want is a hamburger with cheese.    That is fine – but it’s confusing.  Not just to me as I heard three others go through the same problem when they ordered.  Maybe just call the Grilled Cheese Burger a “Grilled Cheese Burger” instead of a “Cheeseburger” ?    I think I have just confused myself.  Again.

—  So I am looking around waiting for my order and realizing I have no idea who the hell the celebrity is that they gave me.  Some Twilight person I find out later.

What arrives at my table are a few baskets and I am ready.   Here is where I shoot this down and call it over-hyped nonsense.

AND I AM THE WRONGEST I HAVE EVER BEEN IN MY LIFE.   This burger is heavy, thick, juicy–instantly and recognizably different from any burger I have had in a LONG TIME.     These babies are CHAR GRILLED and it sends me to the moon and back.   I HAMMERED that sucker down with the quickness.   I am at a crossroads.  I am at the forefront of tasty burgers.   I am eating THE BEST BURGER I have ever had in Aggtown.  I could not be more serious.

Oh and did I mention the BAD ASSERY that are the onion rings?  Look at those thick and husky monsters.  Not pictured but also devoured were a big basket of sweet potato fries that were just as good.    This place nails it.  This is my new favorite burger joint.  Done and Done.

Overall, the meal I had there was fantastic.   Chop House Burgers in Arlington deserves all the hype,mention,and praise it has received.  It’s a damn fine burger.

Now it’s your turn – get involved in the conversation – voice your own opinion of Chop House Burgers – here by posting a comment or joining the conversation over at Urbanspoon!

Chop House Burgers on Urbanspoon

3 Responses to “REVIEW: CHOP HOUSE BURGERS”

  1. Doug Warner October 6, 2012 at 5:55 am #

    5 star chef making 5 star food. Long live Kenny Mills.

  2. Dalton October 6, 2012 at 9:18 am #

    You didn’t even try a Chop House Burger… its awesome, but the best burger is the 10 pepper burger

    • junkfoodcritic October 6, 2012 at 5:00 pm #

      Dalton, you are completely correct. I haven’t had the official CHB or the 10 pepper – just two more reasons I have to go back! Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 319 other followers

